Skip to content

strawberry rhubarb pie//Dean

March 17, 2013

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie 220130317-212734.jpg

20130317-212755.jpg

20130317-212803.jpg

Maybe I’m a bit biased but my grandpa is by far my favorite chef. He pleases my constant pleads for strawberry rhubarb pie regularly, even if out of season. He meticulously measures everything perfectly whenever cooking and every recipe is followed exactly. He is what I find as the definition of a passionate chef.

About Dean:
The first thing that I ever actually cooked was a blackberry pie when I was 15 years old. I really got into cooking in my middle 20’s. My specialties then were cornish game hens on a rotisserie with a rice pilaf stuffing and steamed butter clams on a half shell. Once I became a single father, obviously I was cooking quite a bit more – and the menu changed to a more “everyday” fare which included spaghetti and 7 bone pot roast. I’ve continued cooking and have branched out into sour dough breads, homemade pasta and strawberry rhubarb pie. I enjoy trying new, healthy recipes and now have chickens for fresh eggs and bee hives for my own honey.

Spurring my love of cooking is a friendly competition with my brothers-in-law – not to mention pleasing my granddaughters. BBQ has become a cook off and white bean chicken chicken chile is now a favorite of the family.

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe:
2 1/2 cups rhubarb
1 cup sugar
1/3 teaspoon of salt
2 cups strawberries
2 1/2 tablespoons quick tapioca
1 teaspoon grated lemon rind

Wash rhubarb; cut into small pieces. Mix with dry ingredients. Let stand 5 minutes. Add cleaned strawberries.

Lay out bottom pie crust, pour in filling. Cover with slashed top crust. Back in oven (450 degrees) for 10 minutes. Then lower heat temperature to 350 degrees and bake for 35 minutes longer.

*This is my favorite treat in the entire world and I highly encourage trying it!

One Comment leave one →
  1. REGINA S ROACH permalink
    March 18, 2013 7:02 pm

    I love this posting!! Dean is great. I’ve actually never even tasted his strawberry rhubarb pie, but I’ll definitely insist on some next time we’re together.

Leave a Reply

