Skip to content

egged around the world

March 12, 2013
Image
After returning home from an amazing three months aboard last year I vowed to continue as many of the traditions and habits I picked up in Italy as possible. We all know food is (arguably) Italy’s most famed attribute, so it was only fitting to highlight a cuisine I picked up from my time as a Roman. You might be thinking I am referring to a favorite pizza or pasta dish but it was actually an egg scramble that I learned and have since perfected.
My roommate Anna and I visited the fresh markets daily to gather vegetables for our nightly scrambles, usually calling upon peppers, mushrooms, and tomatoes among other favorites. My role started as the designated dish cleaner, as I didn’t know how to sauté vegetables or even cut an onion. However, I have since evolved into a confident scrambler and budding cook. Each time I whip up the egg dish I am brought back to our apartment in the heart of Rome and all the amazing feelings that have left me utterly wanderlust are further exaggerated.
 
Here’s my recipe, feel free to add or remove any vegetables your heart desires!
 
2 egg whites, 1 full egg
¼ red onion
½ bell pepper
¼ cup cherry tomatoes
¼ cup mushrooms
1 handful of spinach
Basil or Salsa
 

Dice onions and peppers first. Sautee in open pan on medium-high heat until onions begin to brown and peppers are soft. Slice mushrooms into quarters and add to mix. Once mushrooms begin to brown, cut cherry tomatoes in half and add to mix. Add spinach and allow them to wilt (happens very quickly). Add eggs into the mix and scramble to desired level. Top off with basil or opt for a salsa if you are looking for an added spice! 

 

ImageImage

 
Check out Val’s blog here.  
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

