Skip to content

il chicco di caffe

January 14, 2013

20130114-095250.jpg

It’s safe to say I had the best, most authentic Italian meal I’ve had in my life in Florence. All for ten euro. Following a suggestion from the lonely planet website I made my way past all the tourist sites and main streets to a hole in the wall restaurant, il chicco di caffe. Walking in, I was greeted by a room filled with long farm style tables and smiling Italians discussing the latest politics and enjoying their lunch. As confused as I looked, a woman soon approached me stating how exactly ‘this whole thing works’. Grabbing my own silverware and plates, I squeezed my way into a shared table with eight other Italians. Given a menu in all Italian with no prices, I literally used my broken Italian abilities to say I’d like whatever the best dish is. An older woman who seemed to be single handily running the joint from taking orders to cooking, smiled back at me and I knew I was in for a treat. She brought out a dish of some sort of white fish in a red sauce and a plate of cooked spinach. I was told by the man across the table that it was the house speciality. My, was it special. I don’t think I’ve ever liked fish or spinach that much. Combining hearty flavors with varied spices, it was delicious. After chowing that down in 0.2 seconds, I was then handed the best tiramisu I have EVER had in my life. I’ve come across a truckload of tiramisus, but this one utilized the perfect amount of fluff, cakiness and temperature for a winning combination. Needless to say I will be going back for lunch if I am ever in Florence.

20130114-095241.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 14, 2013 12:59 am

    I love moments like you describe. It makes the experience of travel (especially to another country) so much more wonderful.

Leave a Reply

