Skip to content

fly above

November 20, 2012

 

For the past several months, I have developed an obsession. Flywheel. Usually when I say this, no one has any clue what I am talking about, but let me tell you, you are missing out. As my friends and family giggle at my multiple check ins and status updates about this little gem in South Lake Union, I can’t help but wave my flywheel fandom with arms held high. Flywheel is an indoor cycling class unlike any other. When you walk in the door, you are approached with a sign in computer screen and the happiest front desk gals I’ve ever seen. After checking in, your sized clip-in bike shoes are waiting for you. You can throw all your stuff in their free automatic lockers with a customized password and if you forgot a hairband, water or anything else, they have that too. The place is bursting with an enthusiastic Seattle workout crowd that live and breathe flywheel. Once you are ready to ride you step into the stadium layered cycling room and find your bike number. The bikes have easy to use torque adjusters and an electronic screen that show your torque, RPMs and power. After you’ve adjusted your seat in walks the instructor, my favorite is Aina, and it’s time to ride. The lights are turned off, a curated mix of songs (unique with each class) blasts throughout the room and the reader board shows your place in the class throughout the entire workout. It is an experience like no other, and your first ride is free. I encourage everyone to try it at least once, but be careful it’s addicting.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2012 4:06 pm

    Hey Ali, I found your blog from Aina’s FB post. I went to her Sunday 8:30 class last weekend (my first time) and I agree, it was AMAZING! I can totally see how it could become addicting… 🙂

    • November 20, 2012 4:15 pm

      I love classes and I would say she is one of the best, her enthusiasm is astounding! 🙂 hope to see you in class sometime.

Leave a Reply

